I'm from Florida. Got a ticket for driving 83 in a 70mph zone (i75) in Lowndes County, Georgia. Officer said it would be $80 something and no points to my license. Called number on ticket to pay and was told fine was $100 and that it was up to my state whether to give me points. Is this right? Why did the cop tell me one thing and the payment number another? Should I pay the ticket or hire a lawyer?
GA reports convictions (including merely paying the fine is defined as a conviction) to a driver's home state. FLA will impose points for this violation.
Official Website Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles
FL will impose 3 points.
The officer was likely speaking only of the GA points system, which requires you to Speed 15 or more above the limit to get points on a GA license.
5 years ago or so, and still in some remote counties, the clerk of court does not send in a disposition if the Speed is less that 14 over…but the clerks are now TOLD to the y must do so, so the home state can do what they will.
Point assessment would be up to your state. In GA, 14mph and under accumulates no points. Cop may have been “ballparking” the fine; go by what the clerk says.